Skip Navigation

Units of Competency

To register for the Certificate IV in Companion Animal Services, students must have :

  • Attended Component 1 - Dog Training the Delta Way seminar
  • Successfully completed all assignments in Component 2 - Responsible Companion Animal Ownership conducted by Delta
  • Attended and successfully completed all practical & written components at the Component 3 - Introduction to Training Class Management 6 day workshop conducted by Delta

Once these pre-requisites have been achieved, students will be eligible to enrol in the final Certificate IV component.  The Certificate IV is made up of 13 units, 3 which are core and 10 elective units that have specifically chosen to meet the requirements of becoming a dog trainer.  They are as follows:


  • ACMCAS401 - Manage compliance in the companion animal industry
  • ACMGAS301 - Monitor and maintain animal health and wellbeing
  • ACMWHS401 - Maintain work health and safety processes


  • ACMCAS410 - Conduct companion animal training classes
  • ACMCAS409 - Provide training advice to companion animal owners
  • ACMGAS308 - Communicate effectively with clients and team members
  • ACMVET411 -  Prepare, deliver and review animal care education programs
  • ACMGAS306 - Assist with conditioning animals
  • ACMCAS301 - Work effectively in the companion animal industry
  • ACMCAS404 - Develop enrichment strategies for companion animals
  • ACMSUS401 - Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices
  • ACMGAS302 - Provide enrichment for animals

This final unit is not offered by Delta and must be undertaken with another Registered Training Organisation (RTO) and a certified copy provided to Delta to receive recognition of prior learning (RPL).

HLTAID003 - Provide first aid